Month: October 2021

Donegal Volleyball League 1991-92

Final Tables

Donegal Volleyball League Section A 1991-92

1Milford B55010
2Twin Towns A5418
3Milford A5326
4Twin Towns B4132
6Tristar B Castlederg5050

Donegal Volleyball League Section B 1991-92

1Tristar A Castlederg4408
2Green Swifts Rockhill4316
3Woolly Jumpers Carrick4132

Playoff Schedule

Donegal Volleyball League Playoffs 1992

Match Day Semi-Finals
12:00 am

Tristar A Castlederg - Twin Towns A

12:00 am

Milford B - Green Swifts Rockhill

Note: Results and Date of Playoffs currently unknown.

Section A Results

Section B Results


The Donegal Volleyball Association was set up in October 1991 and following the first All-County Blitz in February 1992, the first competition of its’ kind in Volleyball in Co. Donegal, the first ever Donegal Volleyball League was played over three separate Game Weeks in April and May 1992 with Playoffs to follow at a later date. 11 teams in all entered with Milford, Twin Towns and Tristar Castederg all entering two teams each. Other entrants were Lifford, Letterkenny, Green Swifts Rockhill, Bruckless and Carrick-on-Shannon in Co. Leitrim’s wonderfully-named Wooly Jumpers.

Undefeatede Section winners were Milford B and Tristar A with Twin Towns A and Green Swifts Rockhill also making it through to the Semi-Finals. The results of the Semi-Finals and Final are currently unknown.


[1] Anon. (1992) “Volleyball League” Donegal News May 9, 1992. pg. 23

[2] Anon. (1992) “Volleyball League” Donegal News April 4, 1992. pg. 17.

[3] Anon. (1992) “Volleyball” Donegal Democrat. April 2, 1992. pg. 20.

[4] Anon. (1992) “Volleyball” Donegal Democrat. May 28, 1992. pg, 24.


Thanks to Niall Brennan.


Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American and World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 20 October 2021

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2021

You may to quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Resereved.